next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

JUST ANOTHER DAY

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Another nasty hot day full of busy-ness and sweat. I did just about everything for market prep today and then I remembered a customer wants, like, umm, twelve pounds of goat milk fudge. Shit, making fudge in this heat is akin to the seventh level of hell. I wouldn't be surprised if the stuff came out really salty from the sweat running down my arm and onto the spoon into the pot.

Yummy.

Then, when I finally felt like I might pass out from lack of food Rainman went to get dinner and I ran out to milk the goats. Then, the sky turned dark and the birds became quiet. It seemed as if the sun had set early. There was a distant grumble but it remained very still out. As I milked faster than I ever have the wind kicked up something terrible. I watched in horror as the canopy on the deck danced and swayed while leaves were ripped from the tree limbs. I looked out the back door of the barn to see my dome tent nearly flattened to the ground. Luna was not too keen about getting on the milk stand with all the commotion but she finally did and I milked her and Rainbow as fast as I could. A. ran outside in horror as the lightening began streaking down from the clouds. I sent her to grandpa to have him close windows upstairs and to get her out of the impending torrent. Thunder rumbled from the top of the mountain and lightening streaked again. The sky was so dark it looked sickly and green. Then the rain came down in sheets blown horizontal by driving winds. I had to pull the vacuum pump into the barn further as the rain pelted the doorway area. I got the goats back into their area (Selena was firmly planted in her favorite corner looking very worried) and psyched myself for the sprint to the house. I couldn't run with a bucket full of milk so I had to get a stride that would carry me smooth and quick to the patio door. I did not stop to turn off the pool filter and I took my glasses off, no point in wearing them without windsheild wipers. I made it to the patio soaked to the skin but unscathed by the lightening. I needed a towel to mop myself off. What a rush.

Well, we finally got some rain. I will check for damage tomorrow. I hope the tomato plants are OK.

written at 9:13 p.m.
August 12, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.