next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

PAGAN?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

SPIRITUAL,

spir�i�tu�al adj.


1. Of, relating to, consisting of, or having the nature of spirit; not tangible or material.

2. Of, concerned with, or affecting the soul.

3. Of, from, or relating to God; deific.

4. Of or belonging to a church or religion; sacred.

5. Relating to or having the nature of spirits or a spirit; supernatural.


[middle English, from Old French spirituel, from Latin spritulis, of breathing, spiritual, from spritus, breath ; see spirit.]


---------------------------------------


I keep reading the musings of others on the topic of paganism. It can be a dilemma, this choice to not only reject the mainstream religon but to also embrace, what to many, is the polar opposite. After all isn't the pagan way the way of the "devil"? Isn't paganism "evil witchcraft"? That is a cliche' that is generally accepted. All things not christian or another sanctioned organized religon must be evil.

So, why did I post the definition of spiritual? Well, I will tell you. I have been following a rather convoluted path toward a personal epiphany of sorts. I have looked under every religious rock I could find. I have read philosophical text that would make you cry in both joy and bordom. I have pondered and practiced and I have fallen to my knees in frustration. In thirty years I have discovered and recovered things that I have learned to love and hate; things that have made me angry and awestruck.

I haven't even scratched the surface, I am a fool to even think I have a glimmer of understanding.

Having said that I will tell you what I do believe. I believe that there is an unimaginable difference between sprituality and religon. The former is an inate part of each individual entity in the universe while the later is a system developed by the minds of humans. I also feel that we as humans spend an aweful lot of time trying to attain something we already have, that being the spirit. We have that inside and all around us, it is what is driving the body/world we inhabit. We just are so tied up in the busyness we call life that we miss it. We don't need a priest to guide us to heaven worthiness. We don't need a book or guru to find our way to wholeness. We need to look deep within and all around us to see spirit at work every moment. Reverence. A good word and way to be.

I haven't found a single "system" that answers my need for the spiritual. I call myself witch and am initiated in the Dianic tradition but I am not a member of a coven nor do I practice in a methodical way. I am witch more because I am deeply rooted in the earth/fire/water/air that make up myself and my world. I look inside of myself and around me and I feel connection and wonder. I honor all life/death and respect all beings. Everyday I hope to learn a little more about myself and the mystery that surrounds us.

Just as an afterthought I would like to mention that I was raised christian and I did not become a "pagan" as a backlash to my upbringing. I realised when I was around 11 or 12 that there are alot of different people in the world who believe many different things and I personally had a problem with any one being right while all the rest were wrong. I pondered the possibilty that all are either wholely or partially right in the sense that there is an acknowlegement of something greater than we can fully understand that deserves our reverence and celebration.

Sermon over.

written at 8:43 p.m.
2004-12-13

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.