next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

HUNG BY A SHOESTRING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Went over to the Mistress's house today. She had a consultant come down from Cornell to help formulate a business plan. One needs that if one expects to find money to start a business (like there wasn't one already). I went over to take on information and be an extra set of ears. Her situation and mine are different in that she has seventy goats and I have six. We both are able to make a good living she is just crushed under the need to feed all those animals, NOW. I have the time to find a way to work in a smaller sense.

The revelation is that it will take around $35,000 to get her started in a legal way. Then when she is legit. she is taxed for the income which nearly halves what one makes as self-employed. This country is not friendly to the self-employed little person.

Can you say, "Thank ya George Dubya"

So I learned how to write a business plan and had the gastly truth confirmed that playing by the regulations is damned expensive.

I have NO desire to get that big. I want to be a little regional artisan cheesemaker. I already know I can do this because I have sold my cheese to a very enthusiastic audience. Now I just have to find a way to do it on a frayed shoestring budget and satisfy the state regulators at the same time.

*Sigh*

written at 9:01 p.m.
2004-09-29

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.