next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

TEMPERATURE RISIN'

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

A most excellent dose of heckling ladies! It is so nice to know I can count on a really cool bunch of wenchies to help me out when I am nursing my sick kid.

Speaking of sick kid - The temperature is rising. At last check she was near 102 and looking a bit peaked. This is only good. The immune system is working as it should. Given my concerns about the damage done by the long course of antibiotics last summer I feel relieved.

Now a letter from the audience.

Ms. yaketyyak writes:

"Lemon socks?"

Dear Yaketyak,
You are clearly a very curious individual who catches on to the details easily. I most certainly did say, "lemon socks". You see us old "wives" have a few tricks up our sleeves that work better than most folks will give us credit for. When a child has a very high fever that is causing the whole body to feel very hot lemon socks may be the way to literally bring the fever down. If the child has burning hot feet those feet should be put into lemon socks and wraped in a blanket to keep the socks warm. To prepare the lemon socks take one pair of adult sized tube socks, one bowl of warm water and one or two lemons. Squeeze the lemon(s) into the bowl of warm water with the lemon(s) submerged. Soak the socks in the lemon water and wring out and quickly put them on the child's feet. They should reach to the child's knees. Wrap the socked feet and legs in a blanket and let the child rest. The fever will go down by at least a degree or two by using this method. This can be repeated but be careful not to bring a useful fever down too far.

I hope this little bit of information is useful to you at some point. You are a clever woman who should be admired for your quick observations.

Sincerely,
Greenwitch

We now return to our regularly scheduled blog.

The kid ain't going to school tomorrow which doesn't leave me in a productive place. I gotta keep my priorities straight though and this is a wake up call. My kiddo comes first. Always.

In other news I watched a portion of Young Frankenstein and Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory tonight. What a wonderful fix of young Gene Wilder. Both movies are such classics and the older Wonka is so much better than the newer version. I find Johnny Depp's Wonka almost creepy and sleezy. I much prefer the original.

Now I'm outta here. Stay warm and cozy where ever you are tonight.

written at 8:58 p.m.
February 06, 2007

4 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.